Kenway Yu talks about choreography in the show

A Dancing Faery

  

We’ve been rehearsing for a few weeks now and I can feel the energy of the play coming together. When I told my acting coach about my brief role in this play, he replied, “There are no small roles, only small performers.”  While the Beatniks/Fairies have the fewest lines of the cast, our dance numbers are quite complex.  I didn’t expect the physicality to be so intense!  It’s a real workout and I’m going to start bringing a change of clothes. The directors have a keen eye for detail.  “More specific actions!” they yelled.  I was reminded of one of the most fundamental rules in improv performance- you just have to commit.  You can’t hesitate or feel embarrassed because the audience will pick up on it.  Beyond that, we were given a lot of freedom to choreograph our own personal movements.  It feels like we’re in an interpretive jazz dance class sometimes. I love watching and being a part of the creative process.  We spent over an hour tinkering with Titania’s Song, redoing it from scratch at least once.  At one point all the parts were sung.  For my sake, I’m glad that aspect was discarded.

Leave a comment